Skip to content

Culmination of an experiment…

June 25, 2010

So, here we go: Sunday I will compete in the Ironman triathlon in Coeur d’Alene Idaho.  I’ve trained as much as I can stand, and I’ve done it in a completely unorthodox way.  I’ve eaten a diet that would make endurance gurus quiver (as well as the AHA/ADA/USDA:) and felt amazing on it.  I’ve lost about 30 pounds in the last 3-4 months and I think that my body is ready for this.  Oddly, I am going to embrace the ‘carb-load’ the day of the race (and maybe the night before); I’ll do this to replete hepatic glycogen stores, since I’ve eaten anywhere from 0-30 grams of carbs per day during most of my training.  I’ll try to take pics for this one.  I’m excited for this race for a couple reasons: it’s a dream of mine to do an Ironman and it’ll be done and I will have large swathes of free time.  My goal: sub-12 hours.  Weather is supposed to be nice and I’ll be there with friends and family.  See you all on the other side!  I’ll post a race report afterward.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. irun4fun permalink

    I revere, in a huge way, your accomplishment, and am thrilled that we will witness your dream-come-true. I love you.

    Mama

  2. John permalink

    Good luck!

  3. Linda Norman permalink

    You are going to to GREAT!!!

Leave a Reply

