Skip to content

Back to working the night shift

June 20, 2010

It will be interesting to see how my body adapts to working the night shift again, given the fact that I’ve become such a big believer in the natural rhythms of the human body.  These circadian rhythms are about to be all jacked up again for me!  In fact, I worked my first night shift last night, and I gotta say, I really felt great.  Drank coffee twice during the shift to be sure, but had solid energy all the way through, even though I have not done it for a year.  My strategies:

*Replace Vitamin D effectively on days I’m sleeping through the sunshine

*No eating for the last 5 or so hours before coming home and going to bed

*Short, intense workouts in the afternoon followed by cleansing sauna before work

*High quality, high fat nutrition as always, but especially strict during night shift periods

*Sunglasses on the way home to prevent sunlight from stimulating my Reticular Activating System as much as possible

*Group night shifts together (6 on, 8 off)

*Naps in the sun on off days

*Less chronic cardio (Ironman is a week from TODAY!)

If anybody has any suggestions for me, I’m all ears.

Cheers!

PS more progress pics, and pics in general, coming soon!

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. your favorite sister permalink

    I find that those are the hardest times for me – I”m so tempted by sugar and carbs around 2-3am when I’m tired and dragging. I think its a good idea to not eat 5 hours before going to bed…I should try that 🙂 More of an “eating window” –otherwise I get “snacky.” Looks like you have a good plan. Love you.

Leave a Reply

