Skip to content

So it begins….

April 23, 2010

And now I’ll attempt to begin to lay out some of the reasons for my (desperate?), revolutionary and perhaps risky experiment.

Let me be clear: I’m not simply interested in a “plan” to “lose weight”.
I wanna make sense of all the *advice* I’ve been taught re: things like nutrition/weight loss/chronic disease/fitness.
But yes, I want to lose weight.
I feel like I’ve spent many years working out harder than almost anybody in my social circle, both in terms of volume and intensity.  I’ve completed multiple triathlons, I’m a marathoner and ultramarathoner (I’ve not completed an “official” ultra, but have run 30+ miles in training multiple times).  I’ve done all of these things with an “OBESE” BMI.
I’m compulsive about diet and exercise.  I’ve got no shame about this: I believe that it is indeed pathological on some levels.  Oh yeah, and it doesn’t seem to work.  I’ve counted calories.  No, I mean I really have.  I’ve counted and calculated ENERGY IN (calories) MINUS ENERGY OUT(exercise + basal metabolic rate).
In my extensive clinical trial of exactly one subject, I’m conclusively convinced of at least one thing: it’s NOT simply calories in minus calories out.  I’m convinced that diet composition has something to do with it.  Turns out, this is definitely not a new or controversial idea, and there’s a growing number of people these days challenging conventional wisdom on a variety of fronts.  I’ll pull from those generous sources and add a bit of my own BS from time to time:)
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

