Skip to content

Frenched Bone-in Ribeye; random/scattered updates

October 5, 2010

This was so delicious it’s nearly ridiculous.  Nothing more than salt, sear on high heat for about 4:30 on each side, then finish it off in the convection oven until medium rare (130-135°).  I ate this one with a potato fried in a mixture of butter, beef tallow and light olive oil.  Yes!  Stephan over at Whole Health Source has done an interesting series on potatoes. I’ve sure been enjoying them lately.  I normally avoid eating too much starch, but I gotta say, it feels like this recent increase (over the last week or so) has been really helpful; there have been a few days in the last couple of months where I’ve felt like I have been retaining water or something, sort of a bloated feeling.  Eating a large meal including either sweet potatoes or white potatoes following a fast has rid me of those feelings completely.  Not planning on a permanent starch increase, but periodic increase for a week or so seems like a good idea (and tastes delicious too!).

Interesting research regarding dairy intake: HERE.  I LOVE dairy these days…lots of cheese, cream and cottage cheese; this is divergent with “orthodox” paleo, as is potato consumption…c’est la vie.

I’ve started Nurse Practitioner school, and I am loving it.  Lots of work! I love learning, and I look forward to being on top of the latest best practices in medicine and perhaps agitating the establishment with a few heretical paleo/primal/ancestral thoughts here and there:)

Ok a few pics:

A beautiful steak:

These potatoes were devilishly good…I’ve got to remember to peel them however…peeling reduces the toxic glycoalkaloid content (alpha-solanine and alpha-chaconine); most of these toxic compounds are in the skin (thank you Stephan’s article)

Gotta keep it simple: salt and heat.

Blurry, disappointing final pic:

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

